Fresh off the Press …

Image

Somewhat to my surprise, I got a copy of my book Magic Words: The Extraordinary Life of Alan Moore yesterday. Here is a very bad photo of it. Seriously, this picture does not do this book any justice at all. I mean, it looks great in this picture, I think, but the actual book is so much nicer.The book is beautiful. I didn’t have anything at all to do with the design of this book, and there were three or four lovely touches I just did not know would be there. It was the work of, I believe, Maeve Healey, Melissa Smith and Mark Swan. I’m embarrassed to say that I don’t know who did what.I’m biased, I know. But I think when you actually see a copy, you’ll agree it’s just a nice item. It sounds really odd to talk about ‘spoilers’ when it comes to the outside of a book, one that’s in that photograph there, but I don’t want to describe it in detail, I want you to go ‘ooh’ all for yourself.

This could easily have been just another hardback book, and Alan Moore writes comics, so there were some really lazy ways to go about the cover, but the design team have created something that’s a little bit weird, something that stands out, but which isn’t gimmicky or intrusive.

The book is out on November 7th in the UK, December 1st in the US. If you’re in the US, you can get advance copies at New York Comic Con this Saturday, and, from next week, at the Strand and Midtown Comics. 

 

Leave a Reply

